Defining the boundaries of privacy and property rights

Fence bylaws are a set of regulations set by a local government that dictate the design, height, and placement of fences on residential and commercial properties. These laws are put in place to ensure the safety, security, and appearance of a community, while also preserving the rights of individual property owners. Some common fence bylaws include restrictions on the use of certain materials, such as barbed wire, for safety reasons, and requirements for obtaining proper permits before building a fence. By adhering to fence bylaws, property owners can avoid penalties or fines, and help maintain the integrity of the community.

Ontario Bylaws by City

For most cities and towns in Ontario, you do not need a permit to build a fence however, regulations regarding height do apply. These regulations apply to fences for single-family or semi-detached houses, duplexes, triplexes, townhouses and commercial properties. For bylaw specific information about your town or city, please see below.


– Current Municipalities – City of Cambridge, City of Kitchener, North Dumfries Township, City of Waterloo, Wellesley Township, Wilmot Township, Woolwich Township

Fence Contractors


–Current Townships – Centre Wellington Township, Town of Erin, Guelph/ Eramosa Township, Mapleton Township, Town of Minto, Puslinch Township, Wellington North Township.

(Historical Townships – Arthur, Eramosa, Erin, West Garafraxa, Guelph, west Luther, Maryborough, Minto, Nichol, Peel, Pilkington, Puslinch)

Star Fencing Inc.

Brant County

- Current Municipalities- County of Brant

Star Fencing Inc.

City of Hamilton

- Current Municipalities- City of Hamilton

Star Fencing Inc.

Oxford County

–Current Municipalities – Blandford –Blenheim township, East Zorra- Tavistock Township, Town of Ingersoll, Norwich, South-West Oxford, Town of Tillsonburg, City of Woodstock, Zorra

(Historical Townships – Blandford, Blenheim Dereham,East Nissouri, North Norwich, south Norwich, East Oxford, North Oxford, West Oxford, East Zorra, West Zorra)

Star Fencing Inc.

Perth County

– Current Municipalities – Town of North Perth, Perth East Township, Perth South Township, West Perth Township.

(Historical Townships – Blanchard, Downie, North Easthope, South Easthope, Ellice, Elma, Fullarton, Hibbert, Logan, Mornington, Wallace)

Star Fencing Inc.

Regional Municipality of Halton

– Current Municipalities – City of Burlington, Town of Halton Hills, Town of Milton, Town of Oakville

(Historical Townships –Esquesing, Nassagaweya, nelson, Trafalgar) Please let us know when the changes are made. We would like this page live as soon as possible.

Star Fencing Inc.